The Acadia Parish School Board members for the 2019-2022 term were sworn in during ceremonies at the School Board office. Included are, from left, Steve Jones, District 5 (Rayne); Becky Atkinson, District 4 (Crowley); Bishop James Proctor, District 1 (Crowley); James Higginbotham, District 7, APSB president (Church Point area); Delo Hebert, District 3, APSB vice-president (Midland area); Ike Richard, District 6 (Church Point area); Milton Simar, District 8 (Iota area) and Douglas LaCombe, District 2 (Crowley-Egan area).

School Board members sworn in as year begins

The Acadia Parish School Board met on Monday for the first meeting of the new year — the first for newly elected board members.

Through official proclamation, Mayor Tim Monceaux has designated Monday, Jan. 21, as “Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day” in the city of Crowley, encouraging citizens to observe the day with appropriate activities and programs that honor the memory and legacy of Dr. King. On hand for the presentation of the proclamation Tuesday morning at city hall were, from left, Christopher Mayfield, PUSH member; Police Chief Jimmy Broussard; Mayor Monceaux; DeBira Broussard, chairperson, Martin Luther King Youth Musical; Dr. Ezora Proctor, NAUW consultant; Bishop James W. Proctor, Acadia Parish School Board member; and Latitka Charles, West Crowley Advisory Board.

Programs planned to celebrate Dr. King

The Crowley Alumni Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority will host the city’s annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day program Monday.

The Louisiana Rice Research Board presents a $1 million check to fund an academic chair for rice research in the LSU AgCenter. The presentation was made at the joint meeting of the Louisiana Rice Council and the Louisiana Rice Growers Association held recently in Jennings. Shown left to right are Dane Hebert, LRRB vice chairman; Brian Wild, former LRRB member; Mike Strain, commissioner of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry and LRRB ex officio member; Donald Berken, former LRRB member; Damian Bollich, LRRB member; Ronald Sonnier, former LRRB member; Mike Fruge, former LRRB member; Alan Lawson, LRRB member; Jeffrey Sylvester, LRRB member; Bill Richardson, LSU vice president for agriculture; Rogers Leonard, LSU AgCenter associate vice president; Fred Zaunbrecher, former LRRB member; Jackie Loewer, former LRRB chairman; Clarence Berken, former LRRB vice chairman; John Denison, former LRRB chairman; Richard Fontenot, LRRB chairman; John Denison Jr., LRRB secretary-treasurer; Steve Linscombe, former director of the LSU AgCenter H. Rouse Caffey Rice Research Station. (Photo courtesy Bruce Schultz/LSU AgCenter)

La. rice industry gives $1million to fund LSU AgCenter research chair

The Louisiana Rice Research Board has given $1 million to fund an academic chair dedicated for rice research in the LSU AgCenter.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793