Article Image Alt Text

Notre Dame trio earns first-team All-District honors

The Notre Dame Lady Pios were loaded with youth during the 2019 prep volleyball campaign, one that was expected to be a rebuilding year for legendary coach Tara Young.
That youth, however, had an abundance of talent.
Despite not having a single senior on the roster, the Lady Pios surged through a difficult schedule and took runnerup honors in district play before advancing all the way to the Divison IV semifinals at the No. 7 seed.
For their efforts, the Lady Pios had three players named to the District II, Division IV All-District first team.
Leading the way for the Lady Pios was sophomore outside hitter Lily Morgan. In district play, Morgan dominated at the net where she recorded 77 kills and a pair of blocks. She also served up 13 aces and logged 58 digs.
Morgan Alleman was named the district’s Outstanding Libero after collecting 37 digs and 14 assists in seven league matches. The junior defensive specialist also had 20 aces.
The third and final member of the first unit chosen was junior setter Sydnie Dailey, who had 190 assists in league play to go along with 20 aces, 42 digs and nine kills.
Lafayette Christian Academy dominated the first-team selections after winning the district in its first season after moving up from Division V.
LCA’s Bryan Barrett was named the coach of the year after a perfect 7-0 mark in district. His team earned the No. 1 seed in the Division IV playoffs and advanced to the state title game where the Knights were upended by No. 3 Pope John Paul II.
LCA senior outside hitter Kierra Washington was named the Most Valuable Player and she was joined on the first unit by teammates Kourie Calloway and Sam Gilmore, both seniors.
The rest of the first team consists of Ascension Episcopal’s Janai Stevens and Abigail Hall, Catholic of New Iberia’s Madison Bienvenu and Patterson’s Briyanna Butler.
Notre Dame’s Melise Maloz was named to the second team after logging 35 kills, seven blocks and 20 digs during district play.
Other members of the second unit include Ascension Episcopal’s Kira Braun and Annie Mouton, LCA’s Jordan Lavergne and Alexia Ardoin, Catholic’s Abigail Richthofen, Patterson’s Gabrielle Marcel and Delcambre’s Baleigh Trahan.
Notre Dame’s Gabby Cates, Andrus Kelbaugh, Natalie Brown, Maddie Murrell, Sara Boulet and Olivia Hensgens were tabbed to the honorable mention list
Also making the honorable mention list are LCA’s Abigail Thomas and Kaytlin Washington and Ascension Episcopal’s Isabelle Beaullieu.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793