Article Image Alt Text

Serving as officers of the Acadia Parish Police Jury for the coming year will be Steve Comeaux, left, vice president, and Chance Henry, president.

New Police Jury seated

Henry, Comeaux elected officers

In less than five minutes, a new Acadia Parish Police Jury was seated and officers elected here Monday afternoon.
Chance Henry of Morse was elected president of the jury with Steve Comeaux of Basile as vice president. Neither had opposition.
Henry and Comeaux, both first-time jurors, will serve a one-year term.
Appointment of a secretary-treasurer was delayed.
On a motion by Gordon “G-Ray” Morgan, seconded by Walter Andrus, the jury voted to appoint a special committee to review applicants for the four-year post.
The committee will be appointed at the police jury’s regular monthly meeting to be held beginning at 5:30 p.m. today.
The position was advertised in December with applications accepted through Jan. 3.
Acadia Clerk of Court Robert T. “Robby” Barousse administered the oath of office to the jurors, who include Andrus of Crowley, District 1; Jeffery “Red Dog” Morgan of Egan, District 2; Henry, District 3; Gordon Morgan of Crowley, District 4; Jimmie Pellerin of Rayne, District 5; A.J. “Jay” Credeur of Church Point, District 6;, Pat T. Daigle of Church Point, District 7; and Comeaux, District 8.
Only Pellerin is returning to the police jury from last year. Credeur and Daigle previously served as jurors.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793